Craig Tyran

Professor, Department Chair


Craig K. Tyran is Department Chair and a Professor in the area of information systems (IS) in the Department of Decision Sciences at Western Washington University (WWU).

Craig received his undergraduate and master's degrees in Engineering from Stanford University, his MBA from UCLA, and his PhD in Management Information Systems from the University of Arizona. Before entering the world of academia, Craig was an engineer for Exxon Co., USA. He joined the College of Business and Economics at Western Washington University (WWU) in 2001.

Previously, Craig held faculty appointments at Oregon State University (OSU) and Washington State University (WSU). He also has served as Associate Dean and Director of the Center for Innovation in Education at WWU's College of Business and Economics.  He has served as the Chair of the Department of Decision Sciences since 2012.

Craig teaches courses on systems development and the applications of technology in organizations. Craig has been recognized with teaching awards including the Erwin S. Mayer Distinguished Teaching Fellow Award for the College of Business and Economics (WWU), the Allette and Cayden Chase Franklin Excellence in Teaching Award (WWU), MBA Professor of the Year Awards (WWU, Washington State University), and the Excellence in Teaching Award (Oregon State University).

Craig's research explores the ways that technology can be used to support collaboration and learning. His work has been published in MIS Quarterly, the Journal of Management Information Systems, the Communications of the ACM, and a variety of other publication outlets.

Dr. Tyran has served as a Board member of the Special Interest Group for Education for the Association for Information Systems (AIS) and on the Board of Directors for the Bellingham Theatre Guild. He has been an Associate Editor for the Communications for the AIS. He has served as a reviewer for numerous journals and conferences in the Information Systems field. He was a recipient of the Business Advisory Council Award for Service from Oregon State University.