Faculty & Staff

Faculty teaching a classDedicated, engaged and involved faculty are a hallmark of the MSCM program. Each faculty member brings a wealth of knowledge gained through study, research and being connected to industry. MSCM professors care about student success in the classroom and beyond.

 

 

 

 

Dr. Peter Haug - Professor of Operations Management, Director of MSCM Program

Education - (1986) BA, State University of New York at Fredonia; MA University of Maine; MBA, College of William & Mary; MPhil, University of Edinburgh; PhD, University of Washington.

Background - Professor Haug teaches courses in Designing and Improving Operations, Project Management, Supply Chain Management, and Manufacturing Strategy. From 1997-1998, he taught as a Fulbright Lecturer in the MBA program at Renmin University of China in Beijing, China, and in 1998-1999, he had a professional development leave at Strathclyde University in Glasgow, Scotland. From January - June 2001, he was a visiting professor in the Department of Engineering at the University of Iceland in Reykjavik. His research interests are in global manufacturing strategy and location decisions and the implementation of lean manufacturing.

 

 

 

 

Dr. Stella Hua - Associate Professor of Operations Management

 Education - PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Background - Professor Hua earned her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and MBA degree from Baylor University. Prior to joining the faculty at Western in Fall 2002, she held a faculty position at Oregon State University. Professor Hua is certified by APICS in the Production & Inventory Management area (since 2001) and is a recipient of the APICS Education & Research Foundation Plossl Fellowship. Her  research focuses on process improvement, product innovation, and supply chain integration. Her work has appeared in IEEE Transactions on Engineering Management, Journal of Production Innovation Management,  Computers and Operations Research, and Case Research Journal. Professor Hua teaches Operations Management and Supply Chain Management at both undergraduate and graduate levels.

 

 

 

Dr. Mark Springer - Associate Professor of Operations Management

Education - (1987) BA, University of Cincinnati; MBA, PhD, Vanderbilt University.

Background - Professor Springer currently teaches the ERP and Quality Management courses as well as the senior seminar in Manufacturing Management. His research has appeared in the European Journal of Operational Research, the Journal of Operations Management, and Computers and Industrial Engineering.

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Gerard M. Campbell - Professor of Operations Management 

Education - BS, Columbia University; MS, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; PhD, Indiana University, Bloomington.

Background - Professor Campbell’s research interests include mathematical modeling of workforce staffing and production scheduling issues, and he has also written numerous teaching case studies based on actual manufacturing and service organizations.  His research has appeared in a variety of academic journals, including Decision Sciences, Management Science, European Journal of Operational Research, Journal of the Operational Research Society, and the Decision Sciences Journal of Innovative Education. 

 

 

Directory

Name Phone Title Dept Office Office Hours E-mail
Deepinder Bajwa (360) 650-7309 Professor Decision Sciences PH439

Spring: TR 12:00 - 2:00pm or by appointment

Deepinder.Bajwa@wwu.edu
Katherine Baker (360) 650-6726 Instructor Decision Sciences PH206B

Fall: RF 11:00 - 11:50am

Katherine.Baker@wwu.edu
Christopher Califf (360) 650-4817 Assistant Professor Decision Sciences PH039

Fall: MW 10:00 - 11:30am; 1:30 - 2:00pm

Christopher.Califf@wwu.edu
Gerard Campbell (360) 650-4496 Professor Decision Sciences PH407

Fall: TR 10:45 -11:45 am

Gerard.Campbell@wwu.edu
Xiaofeng Chen (360) 650-3913 Assistant Professor Decision Sciences PH207

Fall: TR 8:50 - 9:50am

Xiaofeng.Chen@wwu.edu
Roger Cox (360) 394-2712 Instructor Decision Sciences PBX222

By Appointment

Roger.Cox@wwu.edu
Mohamed El-Sharo (360) 650-2904 Visiting Assistant Professor Decision Sciences PH 206A

Spring: by appointment

Mohamed.El-Sharo@wwu.edu
Michael Flittie (360) 650-6726 Instructor Decision Sciences PH 206B

Fall: MTu 10:00 - 11:00am

Michael.Flittie@wwu.edu
Lillian Fok (360) 650-6308 Associate Professor Decision Sciences PH 409

Fall: TR 9:00 - 10:00am, 1:30 - 2:00pm, 4:00 - 5:00pm

Lillian.Fok@wwu.edu
Peter Haug (360) 650-4807 Professor Decision Sciences PH349

Fall: MW 2:00 - 3:50pm

Peter.Haug@wwu.edu
Stella Hua (360) 650-4135 Professor Decision Sciences PH323

Fall: MW 10:15 - 11:45am

Stella.Hua@wwu.edu
Saido Jama (360) 650-3994 MSCM Program Assistant Decision Sciences PH206A Saido.Jama@wwu.edu
Ilhyung Kim (360) 650-2428 Professor Decision Sciences PH329

Fall: MW 10:30-11:45 am

Ilhyung.Kim@wwu.edu
Jiexun Li (360) 650-4230 Assistant Professor Decision Sciences PH339

Fall: TR 1:00 - 3:00pm

Jiexun.Li@wwu.edu
Talisa Manker (360) 650-3902 Academic Department Manager Decision Sciences PH343

M-F 8:30am-4:30pm

Talisa.Manker@wwu.edu
Ann Renee Mann (360) 650-7224 Manager, Manufacturing & Supply Chain Management Program Decision Sciences PH206A

Tuesdays-Wednesdays-Thursdays

AnnRenee.Mann@wwu.edu
Lee McClain (360) 650-3973 Senior Instructor Decision Sciences PH418

Fall: MW 11:00am - 12:20pm or by appointment

Lee.McClain@wwu.edu
Brian Morgans (360) 650-2447 Senior Instructor Decision Sciences PH208

Fall: M-F 10:00 - 11:30am, M-R 1:00 - 5:00pm, F 1:00 - 3:00pm

Brian.Morgans@wwu.edu
Kraig Pencil (360) 650-7550 Senior Instructor Decision Sciences PH206D

Fall: TR 9:30- 10:00am

Kraig.Pencil@wwu.edu
Kurt Robertson (360) 650-2902 Instructor Decision Sciences PBX222

By Appointment

Kurt.Robertson@wwu.edu
Chris Sandvig (360) 650-7952 Professor Decision Sciences PH313

Spring: MW 11:00am-1:00pm or by appointment

Chris.Sandvig@wwu.edu
Mark Springer (360) 650-4806 Professor Decision Sciences PH325

Fall: MW 2:00 - 3:40pm

Mark.Springer@wwu.edu
Sue Su (360) 650-4426 Senior Instructor Decision Sciences PH036

Fall: M 8:30 -11:30am &1:30 - 3:30pm, W 1:30 - 3:30pm, F 8:30 -11:30am

Sue.Su@wwu.edu
Craig Tyran (360) 650-2207 Professor Decision Sciences PH343A

Fall: TR 2:10 - 3:00pm, W 1:00 - 2:00pm

Craig.Tyran@wwu.edu
George Zhang (360) 650-2867 Professor Decision Sciences PH335

Fall: MWF 2:30 - 3:30pm

George.Zhang@wwu.edu