Connecting to CBE Labs from Off-Campus

Remotely gaining access to the CBE labs is now possible. This is accomplished by connecting to VPN, then to a website that lists each of the computers in the Parks Hall labs.

VPN

Currently, all students are granted access to VPN. ATUS has instructions on their website for both installing the software and using it. They are found here: https://atus.wwu.edu/kb/vpn-virtual-private-network

Labstats Website

This website is what makes the connection between your computer and the lab computer. First, go here: https://remoteaccess.labstats.com/western-washington-university

Scroll to the Parks Hall lab computers and choose any computer from the list. A new window will appear, asking you to download a file. Click Download, then click on the downloaded file. Choose Remote Desktop Connection, then the Connect button.

You should now get a window asking for your credentials. Enter those and click OK, then if you are asked if you want to verify the connection, say Yes. You should now be connected to the lab computer; this is the same as if you were physically at the computer, so it’s normal for the login to take a while if you haven’t logged in to that exact computer recently.

Mac Users

In order to use the Labstats website, you will need one additional piece of software. Go to the app store and search for “Microsoft Remote Desktop”. This software is what will enable you to open the file that is downloaded from the Labstats website.

Conflict With People Physically at the Computer

Unfortunately, with the labs open again, there is a chance that if you remote into a computer, that a person may try to log in while physically at the computer. A remote user will not be able to attempt a log in due to how the system is set up, but a physical person could. You will want to save frequently and try not to walk away while connected, for a reason that you will see below.

If you are logged into a lab computer remotely, and another student tries to log in to the same computer, the physical student will get this message:

While this is happening, you will not know anything is happening.  If the person physically at the computer clicks no, they are brought back to the login screen.

If the student clicks Yes, then you will get the following message:

If you click OK, you will get disconnected and the physical student will get logged in (though not into your session, into their own session). This is the same as if you don't do anything and 30 seconds goes by.

If you click Cancel, the physical student gets this message: